Public Transportation in Toronto

Created by: Li Ju

What are the public transportation options in Toronto?

Public transportation in Toronto is operated by the Toronto Transit Commission, known as the TTC. TTC not only covers Toronto but also the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) which offer a wide different public transportation options including: 

  1. Buses: Buses are usually located at either side of the street with destination and route number displayed at the front and back of the buses. Bus schedules differ depending on days of the week and times of the day, therefore, it is important to check bus schedules ahead of time through the official website, google map, or texting to the number at each bus station. 
  2. Subway: There are currently four subway lines in GTA including the Yonge-University line, Bloor-Danforth line, scarborough line, and the sheppard line, each represented by a different color. 
  3. Streetcars: Similar to the buses but these streetcars are powered by overhead electric cables. 
  4. Trains: Go trains run from downtown Union Station to other municipalities in the GTA including Lakeshore West, Lakeshore East, Niagara, Milton, Kitchener, Barrie, Richmond Hill, and Stoufville (see below).